Star+Plus Program

Star+Plus Program

Star+Plus Program

Service Description

STAR+PLUS is a Medicaid Managed Care program of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) for adults who are not receiving Medicare. The term "Managed Care" means the State of Texas hires managed care organizations (MCOs) to manage your health care and the STAR+PLUS plan is one option available for eligible Texans with Medicaid. Find your MCOs in Texas.

Who is eligible for STAR+PLUS?

  • Individuals who do NOT have Medicare coverage AND
  • Individuals with Intellectual or Developmental Disabilities (IDD), who receive services in an intermediate care facility,
  • Individuals with an Intellectual Disability or Related Conditions (ICD-IID),
  • Or Individuals with one or more of the following IDD Waivers:
    • Community Living Assistance and Support Service (CLASS)
    • Deaf Blind and Multiple Disabilities (DBMD)
    • Home and Community-based Services (HCS)
    • Texas Home Living (TxHmL)

Children and young adults under the age of 21 are voluntary and can choose to enroll in STAR+PLUS or remain in traditional Medicaid. Long-term services and supports (LTSS) will continue to be provided through DADS.

Covered Services

  • Escort: Accompanying the individual on trips to obtain medical diagnosis, treatment, or both. Additional time may not be allocated for escort services for other purposes. This service does not include the direct transportation of the individual by the attendant.
  • Home Management: Assistance with housekeeping activities that support the individual’s health and safety, including:
    • changing bed linens
    • housekeeping
    • laundering
    • shopping
    • storing purchased items
    • washing dishes
  • Personal Care: Assistance with activities related to the care of the individual’s physical health, including:
    • bathing
    • dressing
    • grooming
    • routine hair and skin care
    • preparing meals
    • feeding
    • exercising
    • helping with self-administered medication
    • toileting
    • transferring/ambulating

Community First Choice (CFC)

Service Description

Community First Choice (CFC) provides certain services and supports to individuals living in the community who are enrolled in the Medicaid program and meet CFC eligibility requirements. Services and supports may include:

  1. Activities of daily living (eating, toileting, and grooming), activities related to living independently in the community, and health-related tasks (personal assistance services);
  2. Acquisition, maintenance, and enhancement of skills necessary for the individuals to care for themselves and to live independently in the community (habilitation);
  3. Providing a backup system or ways to ensure continuity of services and supports (emergency response services); and
  4. Training people how to select, manage and dismiss their own attendants (support management).

CFC as a state plan Medicaid service is available to individuals with a need for habilitation, personal assistance or emergency response services who receive services in the following DADS waiver programs:

  • Community Living Assistance and Support Services (CLASS);
  • Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabilities (DBMD);
  • Home and Community-based Services (HCS); and
  • Texas Home Living (TxHmL).

CFC is also available through managed care organizations for individuals who meet eligibility criteria.

Who Can Get Services:

In Texas, CFC may be available to people enrolled in Medicaid, including those served by:

  • 1915 (c) waiver programs;
  • Medicaid managed care; and
  • Personal care services for children.

Individuals may use the Consumer Directed Services (CDS) option for certain CFC services.